Rubber Chicken and a Fear of Scurvy

I’m already sick of the food.  We don’t have a kitchen (yet) so all our food is brought in in hotboxes – a misnomer if ever there was one! It is chicken most nights – done in a variety of ways – rice, over cooked broccoli or beans and potato. Lunch, same again, but with a ‘salad’ of chopped red and white cabbage. Sandwiches are available most of the time but are pretty plain and God knows how old.

Breakfast is luke-warm bacon with appetising lumps of congealed fat, scrambled eggs or under-done boiled eggs, luke-warm hash browns and slices of orange and perhaps rock melon.  Apart from those two, there is no fruit so I will have to eat a pile of the stuff every morning to make sure I don’t end up with scurvy! There is cereal available for breakfast but I find the warmish UHT milk unpalatable. Fruit juice is only available at breakfast.  Sweet, thick custards in a small tubs are the order of the day for all meals.

Only instant coffee so its cups of tea in the morning and a can of coke to get me going. 

Sitting here I am salivating at the thought of one of L’s beautiful fresh stir-fries with crispy green Asian vegetables, steaming hot on a bed of fluffy jasmine rice.

One good thing with all this is the water.  I am drinking probably over 5 litres a day of ½ litre bottled water so with that, no beer and very little coffee my system is getting a good flushing out.  I am smoking too much – I need to get back on the home routine of a couple in the morning and nothing again until 6.00 p.m. Don’t even think of saying I should give it up – this is neither the time nor the place for that.

~ by Centurion on April 9, 2010.

Leave a comment