Hardening Up

Day 38 and a touch over half-way to my first leave.  I shouldn’t think about it – it does my head in.

Since the attack we’ve been busy hardening our defences and today was no different.  Veiled-Speech Warning here as I don’t intend to give anything away while still trying to give you an idea.

Still more Bastion Hescos rolled out and filled, T-walls used to provide depth to my defences, razor wire, endless numbers of sandbags, and one or two surprises I intend to keep up my sleeve.  I’ve been around and personally sited every one of my guns on their primary and secondary tasks (thank God for those endless MG siting lessons on a hot and dusty range as a young LT) and made certain every one of my obstacles is covered as it should be – if you are a former senior Infantry soldier or officer you’ll know what I’m talking about.

I’ve tightened down hard on search and entry procedures at all gates, no matter who it is: LN, westerner or General McCrystal.  I’ve already had complaints that I nod my head politely at, a look of sympathetic concern on my face, then dismiss out of hand.  If you don’t like it, you have two choices: suck it up or don’t come here.

When I first arrived here I was staggered at the lack of preparedness of the place. Sure, it’s not a FOB. It has to operate for its primary purpose of storing and transporting a vital product to ISAF but physical security was so far out of the minds of the guys who built this place it may as well have been locked in a safe on Planet Koozbain.  I’d lie awake at night wondering how I was going to convince the client to shell out the hard-earned for what I needed to make this place truly defendable – and the answers never came in any form I figured the client would accept.  That all changed overnight (literally) a few nights ago.  It’s a blank cheque now and I’m spending it wisely.

~ by Centurion on May 7, 2010.

4 Responses to “Hardening Up”

  1. No such thing as too much security. Because after the fact its why didn’t we have this and why didn’t you do that… Meanwhile its the fuckers that told you months ago that it wasn’t necessary that are now breathing fire.

    Solid blog bud. Stay hard.

  2. Sadly it takes something like that to put attention on force pro. I’ve been doing some form of force pro for many, many years and I have run into the same thing working as a .mil contractor. The COP I am currently assigned hasn’t really gotten it together. I just hope it doesn’t take an “incident” to make the needed changes. Keep fighting the good fight and do what you need to do to keep your folks safe.

    • Dog, thanks for reading and taking the time to get back to me. It’s just like it takes a wee kid to be hit outside the primary school before the council will put up traffic lights… The focus is on us well and truly now!

Leave a Reply

 
