Random Thought #476

Every night, at about the same time just after last light, I sit out on the Hesco wall, smoke and turn over the day in my mind – How did we do?  What went wrong? What went right?  How can we do better? That sort of thing….

And every night, at the same time, a UAV flies overhead, at about 8000 – 10000’(my best guess), on the same track.  Every night I look up and wave at the drone as it putters its way over my compound and out to the east. It’s become a sort of ritual for me and gives me a strange sense of ease and calm.

I wonder if, every night, some UAV pilot somewhere spots me with his FLIR – and god-knows what other technical wizardry – says: “There’s that guy again,” and gives me a wave back.

~ by Centurion on July 27, 2010.

5 Responses to “Random Thought #476”

  1. Beautiful. We all wonder about our place in the world and whether our efforts go unnoticed. Rest assured, sir, that yours do not. Thank you for all that you do.

  2. I would have no doubt about it. 🙂

  3. Your reflection is a reminder that a constant in the chaos is always a welcome respite for the mind. Be safe.
    FJR

  4. It would be interesting if the UAV pilot did wave back to you at his console, it would be even more interesting if he were to say so here.

  5. LOL yeah at the very lease wag his wings when he passes

Leave a Reply

 
